National Spark Change Awards

About the Spark Change Awards

The Wheel, Trinity College Dublin and the Environmental Protection Agency are delighted to announce the inaugural Spark Change Awards.

The aim of the Spark Change Awards is to celebrate the people and groups working across Ireland to make to make their communities socially, environmentally and economically sustainable.

Eighteen of the 35 groups that Spark Change Challenge have been shorlisted for the Award.

The winner will be announced at the Spark Change Awards on  Friday 18 October 2019 at Dublin Castle.

Register to attend


A winner will be chosen in each of the following six categories**:

  1. Mobilizer: The project that demonstrates the greatest successes with mobilizing individuals, organizations or networks for collective action for the SDGs
  2. Storyteller: The most impactful or innovative project to capture powerful human stories to help communicate the interconnectedness of the SDGs in people’s lives through different mediums.
  3. Campaigner: The most impactful or innovative communications campaign (local/national/international) to raise public awareness about the SDGs and/or people’s role in SDG action
  4. Creative: The most impactful or innovative initiative that harnesses artistic expression to spur SDG Action and awareness through creativity, empowering and connecting people
  5. Connector: The team/project that demonstrates innovative or impactful ways to engage multiple stakeholders or build networks to generate the transformational change needed to make the SDGs a reality.
  6. Includer: The project/group that makes the most innovative and impactful effort to ensure that excluded groups become part of the SDG dialogue and decision making in their community or at international levels. Leave No One Behind!


Groups that completed Spark Change Challenge had an opportunity to choose in which of the above-mentioned categories they wish to compete.

Three projects will be shortlisted in each category, and a panel of independent judges will choose a winner in each category.

We will endeavour to make an award in each of the six categories (on the condition that there are at least three eligible projects entered in any given category).

The judging process is outlined in this document.

See full terms and conditions.


The six winners will be announced at the Spark Change Awards ceremony in Dublin on the afternoon of Friday 18 October 2019, at Dublin Castle).

*To qualify for the Spark Change Awards, participating projects must complete the Spark Change Challenge. To complete the Challenge, entrants had to:

  1. complete the Spark Change expression of interest form (closed on 31 January 2019)
  2. complete project survey 1 (this online survey will have been emailed to participants between October 2018 and January 2019 – now closed)
  3. complete project survey 2
  4. choose at least one of the seven award categories to compete in, and
  5. agree to the Spark Change Awards’ terms and conditions.

Only projects that have met all of the above criteria will be considered for shortlisting.

**These categories have been modelled on the UN SDG Action Challenge Awards 2019.